5 the pillars of Islam and its explanation

the pillars of islam
the pillars of islam

five-pillar-of-islamThe word “the pillars of Islam” means the terms of worship are the things to do and understood in worship, the pillars salah is takbeer until Salaam. But the word “Pillars” in the five pillars of Islam means the basics or foundations of the religion of Islam. A Muslim is obliged to practice all the pillars of Islam, except the last pillars of Islam which are optional, meaning that for not being able to do not need to be practiced.

Islam in etymology (origin of the word, Lughawi) the word “Islam” is derived from Arabic: Salima which means congratulations. Aslama form of the word which means gave himself up or submission and obedience. As word of the Almighty GOD.

Yes [on the contrary], whoever submits his face in Islam to Allah while being a doer of good will have his reward with his Lord. And no fear will there be concerning them, nor will they grieve ( Q.S. 2 : 112 )

Aslama of words that are formed the word, Islam. Its adherents are called Muslims. People who embraced Islam means surrender to God and ready to obey His teachings.

If we unite these two words, then the pillars of Islam have meaning basics or foundation should do if it wants to be the true Islam.

The five pillars of Islam

  1. The Testimony of Faith

Ash-hadu an laa ilaaha illallah Wa ash-hadu anna Muhammadan rasulullah

“I bear witness that there is no god except Allah And I bear witness that Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

Shahadah (Arabic: ash-shahadah) is the principle and basis of the five pillars of Islam and is the spirit, the essence, and foundation of all the teachings of Islam. Shahadah comes from the Arabic word is Syahida, which means he has witnessed. The sentence in the Islamic Shari’a is a statement of belief in the oneness of God (Allah) and Muhammad as His messenger. The sentence is to be avowed the first time when someone converts to Islam.

2. Prayer

As Muslims we are obliged to carry out a five-time praying day and night, ranging from the dawn prayer, midday, Asr, Maghrib, and Isha. Salat has a glorious position in Islam, this can we know of the virtue of prayer. In the word of Allah,

حَافِظُوا عَلَى الصَّلَوَاتِ وَالصَّلَاةِ الْوُسْطَىٰ وَقُومُوا لِلَّهِ قَانِتِينَ

Maintain with care the [obligatory] prayers and [in particular] the middle prayer and stand before Allah, devoutly obedient. (Q.S. Al-Baqarah:238)

  • Prayer is the most important obligation after the shahada and is one of the pillars of Islam.
  • Salah is a difference between Muslims and unbelievers.

Messenger of Allah (salallahu alayhi wa salam) said, “That which differentiates us from the kuffar (disbelievers) and the hypocrites is our performance of Salat. He who abandons it becomes a kafir (disbeliever).”

  • Prayer is the pillar of religion and religions to someone does not straight except by running the prayer.
  • Deed first will be judged on Judgment Day.

Abu Hurairah RA reported: The Messenger of Allah (salallahu alayhi wa salalm) said, “The first of man’s deeds for which he will be called to account on the Day of Resurrection will be Salat. If it is found to be perfect, he will be safe and successful; but if it is incomplete, he will be unfortunate and a loser. If any shortcoming is found in the obligatory Salat, the Glorious and Exalted Rubb will command to see whether His slave has offered any voluntary Salat so that the obligatory Salat may be made up by it. Then the rest of his actions will be treated in the same manner.”

3. Zakat

Seen in terms of language, the word zakat means: blessing, grow, clean, holy and good. Zakat according to a term that means something is obligatory given a set of certain property, according to the nature and size of certain to certain groups who deserve it with certain conditions as well.

Allah has commanded every Muslim who has property to expand their wealth zakat every year, which has reached nisab. His property is given to those entitled to receive from the indigent and submitted to them as described in Al Quran.

وَأَقِيمُوا الصَّلَاةَ وَآتُوا الزَّكَاةَ وَارْكَعُوا مَعَ الرَّاكِعِينَ

And establish prayer and give zakah and bow with those who bow [in worship and obedience]. Al-Baqarah [2:43]

خُذْ مِنْ أَمْوَالِهِمْ صَدَقَةً تُطَهِّرُهُمْ وَتُزَكِّيهِمْ بِهَا وَصَلِّ عَلَيْهِمْ ۖ إِنَّ صَلَاتَكَ سَكَنٌ لَهُمْ ۗ وَاللَّهُ سَمِيعٌ عَلِيمٌ

Take, [O, Muhammad], from their wealth a charity by which you purify them and cause them increase, and invoke [ Allah ‘s blessings] upon them. Indeed, your invocations are reassurance for them. And Allah is Hearing and Knowing.  (At-Taubah  103)

4. Fasting the Month of Ramadhan

According to the religious laws of Islam, fasting Ramadan means to refrain from eating and drinking and his deeds which can break the fast, starting from the dawn until sunset, with certain conditions to increase the faith of a Muslim.

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُواْ كُتِبَ عَلَيْكُمُ الصِّيَامُ كَمَا كُتِبَ عَلَى الَّذِينَ مِن قَبْلِكُمْ لَعَلَّكُمْ تَتَّقُونَ

O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous. (Al-Baqarah 183)

5. The Pilgrimage to Makkah

Special is the fifth pillar of Islam, God made each of his servants to make pilgrimages to Kabah lifetime. When a Muslim is capable of pilgrimage and he enjoined. If not capable of then she is not required.

Definition of Hajj is to visit Mecca to perform tawaf, sa’i, standing at Arafat and perform other deeds in the given time to gain the pleasure of Allah.

A few brief description of the pillars of Islam may be useful. We are sorry if there are mistakes and shortcomings.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here